Interdepartmental Coordination Group Euratom

Since 2004 The Nuclear Regulatory Authority of the Slovak Republic (ÚJD SR), in accordance with its competences, has fulfilled the obligations and tasks that result from the membership of the Slovak Republic in the European Union/Euratom Community. The Treaty Establishing the European Atomic Community (Euratom Treaty) is the most important legal document which defines the Community policy in the field of the use of nuclear energy and ionizing radiation.

Based on the Resolution of the Government of the Slovak Republic No. 442/2006 an Interdepartmental Coordination Group to coordinate obligations and tasks resulting from articles of the Euratom Treaty (MRKS Euratom) was established at ÚJD SR at the national level. MRKS Euratom provide with coordination, mutual exchange of information, monitoring fulfilments of commitments, as well as discussion of current topics related to nuclear areas within the scope of the Euratom Treaty. It recommends further measures if necessary. MRKS Euratom usually meets twice a year. The Chairman of MRKS Euratom is the Vice-Chairman of ÚJD SR.

By the Resolution of the Government of the Slovak Republic No. 627/2013 a Departmental Coordination Group for European Affairs (RKS) was established at ÚJD SR. The strategic level of RKS is coordinated with MRKS Euratom. RKS performs activities in accordance with the national system of creating national opinions on draft EU documents and coordination/implementation of EU policies.

ÚJD SR & European Affairs

Updated: 18.11.2021